Results

Seeing the results and progress of those that have figured out what has worked for them, and worked towards a goal, has always been encouraging for me.

Personally, I’m not on a crazy strict plan. I’ve had my weeks or months that weren’t so great. But, along the way, I can definitely tell a difference from where I was just a few months ago. And I definitely see the changes when I look back more than a year.

The best thing about using different kinds of data tracking is seeing the end results. Many fitness apps even have suggestions for taking pictures of your body to allow you to see progress along the way. You’ll never regret taking those photos, especially when down the line you may find yourself amazed at how even though you don’t see it immediately, you end up with better results.

When you are getting started, I’d recommend a few tips.

1 – Take assessment of where you are now. Your current weight is the easiest place to start. Take note of other aspects as well – your current definition, perhaps a few activities you regularly do that seem hard. How much weight you can lift easily. Document these somewhere: written down, in an app, taking pictures, etc. These will be helpful relatively soon, and help you overall

2 – Define clear and concise goals. Maybe you want to run a mile in under 10 minutes. Perhaps there’s a certain weight you want to be able to bench. Or even a goal as simple as hitting that 10,000, 15,000 step goal every day. A clear, concise goal that’s easily memorable, and one you can hold yourself accountable to, will help you better achieve it.

3 – Check in every once in a while. While there are certain apps that can show you fitness tests, I’d recommend going off of those originally defined goals. They are goals you set, so they will be helpful because of their specificity towards you. 

My Observable Results

When I got back into running a year ago, the first thing I saw was being more alert. I didn’t need caffeine to get me through the day, and I was more easily able to focus in classes that I found boring. Through the 3 months I was running, I saw my pace increase.

When I did get into the lull where I couldn’t run, I started going to the gym and try out other exercises because I had seen these results, and I wanted to maintain them.

A year later, after spending a majority of commuting time cycling, taking longer walks, and generally eating better, I can tell the difference. Foods that I may have craved in the past, like junk food, don’t seem as appealing anymore. Making healthier choices is a lot easier, and seeing how I can continue to improve is super simple as opposed to how it once was.

Making sure to measure results and set a clear plan for your personal fitness is one of the best things you can do for your health. What kind of goals do you think you’ll set?

Leave a Reply

